top of page
  • Writer's pictureTere' Lewis

Fuel Up the Diaper Bag!

Planning a day out with an 8 year old and 1 year old, while 8 months pregnant, doesn't go easily without proper planning. The most important step before heading out for the day is packing the diaper bag...properly. A well packed diaper bag can be your Jesus of the land of Motherhood OR it could be the reason why you're ripping your wig off at only hour 2 of being out with the kids. Yes mommies, the way you fuel up the diaper, or not, can be that dramatic on your life haha. I hope these tips help!

 
  • BOOKBAG STYLE DIAPER BAG: Mommies DO NOT buy diaper bags that need to be carried like a purse. Have you ever tried to hold your baby/toddler in 1 arm and an oversized suitcase with a strap hanging from your other arm? And would you look at that...your baby just dropped her bottle/sippy in the grass and is throwing his/her head back having a tantrum because of it. (Can you feel your arms getting tired just by reading this?). Perfect solution, BOOKBAG STYLE DIAPER BAGS. These were created by the baby God's themselves! These provide you with 1 more useful hand/arm if holding your baby and 2 if not, it's not weighing down one side of your body causing discomfort and Betsy Johnson makes like the cutest book bag style diaper bags EVER (just saying).

  • DIAPERS/WIPES: I use 7th generation brand. The wipes have no fragrances, alcohol, or parabens and the diapers have 0% chlorine bleaching, fragrances or lotions (can you tell I strive to be an organic mommy? hehe)

  • BOTTLE/SIPPY: Nothing too special regarding the bottles BUT if your little one is using a sippy PLEASE invest in the Munchkin Miracle 360 Portable Cup. These are spill proof and will save you from having to search the planet for a can of cream soda (because they're clearly the dinosaurs of pop) to get that juice stain out the carpet of your car.

  • ROOM TEMPERATURE FINGER FOODS: Mommies, I know you want to bring the strawberries, blueberries and yogurt but who wants to add a heavy icepack to the bag? No one has time for that! Pack finger foods that are safe to eat at room temperatures such as oatmeal, couscous, quinoa, cooked mashed veggies, etc. (these don't leave stains either, WINNING!)

  • "ONE" CHANGE OF CLOTHES: I have no dialogue about this haha!

  • THREE BINKY's: Mommies NEVER EVER EVEEEEEEEEEEER pack only 1 binky! My reasoning is based off of pure laziness, who wants to keep finding a place to wash the binky off?! If binky #1 is dropped, grab binky #2, if binky #2 is dropped, grab binky #3....and if binky #3 is dropped your child is obviously finding great humor in watching your nostrils flare and hearing you exhale heavily as you mumble "You have got to be kidding me right now."

  • NOISE MAKERS: That rattle for $10 is so cute right? Look at all the colors and the perfect little handle...WRONG-O! Little ones would rather play with a brown paper bag as opposed to that noise maker you just bought from Targèt (yes, I pronounce it Tar-Jay because I'm a tad bit boujie hehe). Here's what I do. I get empty, child proof vitamin bottle, wash it out thoroughly and fill it with things such as beads, coins, dry rice grains, etc. It makes noise, little one's happy, the end.

  • SPRAY HAND SANITIZER: I am a 70% germaphobe when it comes to my children. I say 70% because some days I'm so exhausted I'm just like "eff it" haha. I sanitize chains on swings, handles on buggies, basketballs, you name it, I sanitize it. I use the spray sanitizer by the Honest Company. No special reason that I prefer spray over liquid other than my high anxiety thinking that the liquid is just rubbing the germs around with the sanitizer, having one big ole germ party on my childrens hands (hehe...seriously though)

  • BANDAIDS/OITMENT/BENADRYL: *again, no dialogue*

  • YOUR WALLET, KEYS, AND CELL PHONE: I REFUSE to carry a diaper bag AND a purse. Therefore, the diaper bag IS my purse for the day. This tip is a true life saver!

 

And that's it! Mommies, stop packing everything under the sun. You won't need/use half of it, trust me. Leave that blanket, nail care kit, sunblock, 3 changes of clothes, wash rags, lotion, toys, comb, brushes, how to be a mom books, etc at home!


Pack light. Pack smart. Enjoy your day with your family.





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page